Andy Shane - Series

Andy Shane  - Series
The Andy Shane series is popular with the early reader chapter books’ group. Andy Shane series captures their interest because of Andy Shane’s interactions with his bossy neighbor. Dolores Starbuckle decides the way things must be. All children know such a person and empathize with Andy. They love the way he solves the difficult situations with tact.

Andy Shane lives with Granny Webb. Foster parent and child have a garden. It is Granny Webb’s wisdom that helps the young man overcome his difficulties. She does not directly tell him what to do, but shows him by example. Dolores Starbuckle lives with her family. She loves to have things her way. Yet, she is not stupid. In the end, she usually shares or agrees with Andy, so each is mutually satisfied.

The Andy Shane adventure series teaches children the art of compromise. Andy and Dolores’ ability to do so allows them to live in relative harmony. This is a social skill all children need to learn. Andy learns to stand up for himself. Dolores may disclaim his knowledge of things, but Andy quietly and determinately reveal his mettle. Children need to know how to do this too.

Also, the author, Jennifer Richard Jacobson, creates many adventures for the pair which children love. No dull moments are in the books. In Andy Shane and the Pumpkin Trick, someone is destroying the pumpkins on Dolores’ porch. The pair must stop the little tricksters and attend a Halloween party.

Abby Carter’s pen drawings capture the emotions of Andy and Dolores. In Andy Shane and the Very Bossy Dolores Starbuckle, Dolores points out every mistake made by Andy in class. Abby Carter draws her with her mouth open and her arm waving in the air. Andy face shows his frustration and embarrassment. Her artful use of watercolors brings the characters to life.

The Andy Shane series has plenty of action and adventure, be it in the classroom or at home. The opposites are quite a pair. Choose one of the early reader chapter books for children between four and eight-years-old. Enjoy and learn with the fuzzy redhead characters!

Andy Shane Series

1. Andy Shane and the Very Bossy Dolores Starbuckle

2. Andy Shane and the Pumpkin Trick

3. Andy Shane and the Queen of Egypt

4. Andy Shane is NOT in Love

5. Andy Shane and the Barn Sale Mystery

6. Andy Shane HERO at Last

Series and Sequels Books for Children
Children Action Adventure Books

"I always imagined Paradise to be a....library". - Jorgelius Borges

Drop in the forum. Share your favorite Children Adventure book! Sign up to receive the BellaOnline Children's Books Site newsletter. Do not miss any future articles.

More Children Books

List of Dr. Seuss Books
Don Freeman's Books
Stan Berenstain's Books
List of Magic Tree House Books
Chronicles of Narnia Books
A Series of Unfortunate Events Books

You Should Also Read:
Amelia Bedelia Series
Young Cam Jansen Series
Early Reader Chapter Books

Related Articles
Editor's Picks Articles
Top Ten Articles
Previous Features
Site Map

Content copyright © 2023 by Taisha Turner. All rights reserved.
This content was written by Taisha Turner. If you wish to use this content in any manner, you need written permission. Contact Launa Stout for details.