Kidnapped by Robert Louis Stevenson

Kidnapped by Robert Louis Stevenson
Kidnapped by Robert Louis Stevenson is a sea story. The sea novel is generally considered a story for teenage boys. Kidnapped is for the young and not-so-young whether male or female. The takes place during the Jacobite era in Scotland. It contains a shipwreck, intrigue, flight and most of all, life on the sea.

David Balfour is the hero of the sea story, Kidnapped. In the story’s beginning, young David’s father dies. His only inheritance is a letter left by his father. The letter instructs David to visit his uncle, Ebenezer Balfour of Shaw.

David is intrigued to learn he is related to Scotland gentry. He wonders why his father never spoke of his uncle during his lifetime. Nevertheless, David sets off to meet his uncle and collect his inheritance.

Robert Louis Stevenson’s character, David, discovers Ebenezer Balfour of Shaw living in a house in great disrepair. The uncle tries to kill him. Later, Ebenezer tricks David to board the ship Covenant. On the ship, David is made a prisoner. Kidnapped David is bound to the American colonies for slavery.

It is on the ship Covenant that David begins his sea adventures. There he meets Mr. Raich, Mr. Shuan and Alan Breck. Together the foursomes have all kinds of adventures.

Read Robert Louis Stevenson’s sea story, Kidnapped. Enjoy Stevenson's classic story of stolen inheritance, kidnapping, sea battles, flight, friendship and several murders.

Find a copy of Kidnapped in the local library. The book is available at Amazon for those who want to add the book to their personal collection. It is a book you will read again and again.

Sign up for the Children's Books Review newsletter. Don't miss one article. Drop in the forum and join in a discussion. Share with us your favorite book received and/or given as a gift.

Vampirates Demons of the Ocean is a pirate adventure story set in the future. In the sea story, Justin Somper adds Vampire pirates! Read more about Vampirates.

More Children Books

Dr. Seuss Books
Don Freeman's Books
Stan Berenstain's Books
Magic Tree House Books
Chronicles of Narnia Books
A Series of Unfortunate Events Books

You Should Also Read:
Pirate Story Books
Vampirates Demons of the Oceans
Sea Stories

Related Articles
Editor's Picks Articles
Top Ten Articles
Previous Features
Site Map

Content copyright © 2022 by Taisha Turner. All rights reserved.
This content was written by Taisha Turner. If you wish to use this content in any manner, you need written permission. Contact Launa Stout for details.