g Text Version
Beauty & Self
Books & Music
Food & Wine
Health & Fitness
Hobbies & Crafts
Home & Garden
News & Politics
Religion & Spirituality
Travel & Culture
TV & Movies

Bored? Games!
Take a Quiz
Rate My Photo

Natural Living
Folklore and Mythology
Distance Learning

All times in EST

Full Schedule
g Yoga Site

BellaOnline's Yoga Editor


The Eight Limbs of Yoga

In the western world, yoga has become synonymous with asana, or the physical practice known as hatha yoga. In actuality, the poses are only a small part of yogic philosophy. According to the ancient sage Patanjali, yoga is a system with eight different limbs, with asana being one of them. Thus, there are seven other facets to a well-rounded yoga practice.

The first two limbs are the yamas and niyamas, or ethical precepts. There are five of each, bringing the western practitioner to consider these as the “Ten Commandments” of yoga. Unlike the list in the Judeo-Christian Bible, however, the yamas are practices of not doing, while the niyamas are practices of doing. The five yamas are ahimsa (non-harming), satya (avoiding lies) asteya (non-stealing), bramicharya (control of the senses), and aparigraha (non-coveting). The niyamas include saucha (purity), santosha (contentment), tapas (wise use of energy), svadyaya (study of the self), and ishvarapranidhana (seeking the sacred).

The third and fourth limbs of yoga are asana and pranayama, or breathwork. Asana practice was originally designed to prepare the body for meditation, and breathwork to begin connecting bodily energies with meditative states. While asana is obviously the best known of all the limbs, pranayama is also taught in some yoga classes.

The fifth and sixth limbs of yoga are pratyahara (controlling the senses) and dharana (looking inward). These bring the yogini to the beginning stages of meditation. When one assumes a meditative posture, one ceases movement, decides which senses to use or shut off, and turns one’s attention away from the here and now towards the universal, which yogis believe exists inside all creatures.

Finally, the seventh and eighth limbs of yoga are dhyana (focus on the divine) and Samadhi (union with the divine). These limbs bring the practitioner to a deeper knowledge of the interconnectedness of all living beings, as well as of this earth and this universe. While much writing about these last two limbs is rooted in Hindu and Tantric philosophy and religious practices, the modern yogi or yogini is not required to leave his or her religion to use these limbs. Imagery and prayers from any tradition can be used for dhyana, with Samadhi the result of practice.

Historically, the eight limbs of yoga were developed as a pathway for the mystic. In today’s world, however, they are valuable even for those not inclined to mysticism. The ethics of the yamas and niyamas are helpful for more skillful living, while the meditative aspects of the last four limbs has been medically proven for health and vitality. Taken together, the eight limbs of yoga provide a sound roadmap to happiness and well-being.
Add The+Eight+Limbs+of+Yoga to Twitter Add The+Eight+Limbs+of+Yoga to Facebook Add The+Eight+Limbs+of+Yoga to MySpace Add The+Eight+Limbs+of+Yoga to Digg The+Eight+Limbs+of+Yoga Add The+Eight+Limbs+of+Yoga to Yahoo My Web Add The+Eight+Limbs+of+Yoga to Google Bookmarks Add The+Eight+Limbs+of+Yoga to Stumbleupon Add The+Eight+Limbs+of+Yoga to Reddit

RSS | Related Articles | Editor's Picks Articles | Top Ten Articles | Previous Features | Site Map

For FREE email updates, subscribe to the Yoga Newsletter

Past Issues

Printer Friendly
tell friend
Tell a Friend
Email Editor

Content copyright © 2018 by Korie Beth Brown. All rights reserved.
This content was written by Korie Beth Brown. If you wish to use this content in any manner, you need written permission. Contact Korie Beth Brown for details.


g features
Some Thoughts on OM

Kundalini Yoga

Caring for Your Yoga Mat

Archives | Site Map


Past Issues

Note: BellaOnline uses cookies to help provide a consistent user experience. Our advertisers may use cookies to help customize ads. Please contact us with any question about our cookie use.

Summertime Foods
Corn on the Cob
Burgers on the Grill
Apple Pie


| About BellaOnline | Privacy Policy | Advertising | Become an Editor |
Website copyright © 2018 Minerva WebWorks LLC. All rights reserved.

BellaOnline Editor